This award recognizes a student who has demonstrated passion and achievement in the pursuit of social justice and health equity.  We received a record number of nominations for the 2013 Student Health Activist Award. In recognition of the incredible passion and committment demonstrated by the nominees, we are proud to present the 2013 Student Health Activist Award and 5 Honorable Mentions.


The recipient of the 2013 Student Health Activist Award is


Marguerite Thorp Basilico.

Marguerite Thorp Basilico is co-chair of the AIDS Advocacy Network of the American Medical Student Association. Previously the National Organizer of the Student Global AIDS Campaign and a policy analyst with Health GAP (Global Access Project), Marguerite has organized her peers to lobby their legislators, pressure their universities, and protest inequitable pharmaceutical policy -- in support of global access to life-saving treatment for diseases such as HIV.


The recipients of the 2013 Student Health Activist Award - Honorable Mentions are: 


Italo Brown, for advocacy and activism in support of Medicaid expansion, childhood obesity legislation and access to health care services for uninsured Tennesseans.


Carol's Montes Castellon, for advocacy and activism to create higher education opportunities for undocumented students.


Helena Chapman, for work organizing medical students in the Dominican Republic to form Organizacion Dominicana de Estudiantes de Medicina (ODEM).


Scott Goldberg, for work with peers, other healthcare professionals, and health activists on advancing the movement for single payer national health insurance.


Joshua Reynolds, for advocacy and activism as president of HealthSTAT to promote Medicaid expansion through the Expansion is a Good Deal campaign

Student Health Activist Award